The Diocese of Springfield announces three finalists for the Bishop – Episcopal News Service

The last three candidates are (in alphabetical order):

  • Reverend Brian Kendall Burgess, Diocese of New Jersey
  • Reverend Mary Ann Hill, Diocese of Oklahoma
  • Reverend Scott Allen Seefeldt, Diocese of Milwaukee

In order for the election to take place, the candidate must receive a simple majority of votes in both rows (the votes of the clergy and the laity are counted separately) on one ballot. Voting shall continue by a vote of the members of each order until a bishop is elected. After the election, the majority of the diocesan bishops and the majority of the diocesan standing committees must agree to the ordination and consecration of the bishop as the newly elected bishop.

The consecration of the new bishop is scheduled to take place on May 21, 2022 in Springfield, and Presiding Bishop Michael Curry will act as the principal consecrator.

As the election of the Synod on December 11 approaches, additional opportunities for candidates and the diocese to spot an invitation to the diocese will include video interviews that will be available on the diocese’s website. Diocesan members will have the opportunity to meet with each candidate from November 9 to 12 during personal question and answer sessions.

For more information on candidates, visit,, and For general information about the diocese, our unique process, and election events, visit

The next bishop will succeed Bishop Daniel Hayden Martins, who was elected in 2011 and retired on June 30, 2021. Since his retirement, the Standing Committee has been the ecclesiastical authority of the diocese and will be until the consecration of the 12th bishop. The Diocese of Springfield, founded in 1877, consists of 33 congregations and nearly 4,000 members.

Source link

Posted on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *